About Rajarshi Janak University

Rajarshi Janak University was founded in October 2017 by the Legislature-Parliament pursuant to Sub-article (1) to Article 296 of the Constitution of Nepal. The University has been set up as a multi-disciplinary university in Province 2, having its Central Office in Janakpur.

Rajarshi Janak University (RJU) is one of the prime universities of Nepal incepted with an objective to avail an opportunity to have access to quality higher education among people from all sectors in order to contribute to the national development by producing efficient professional manpower which our country is in need of in this 21st century. The government-funded RJU is of modern state-of-art university in Nepal. Known as a multi-disciplinary university located at Janakpur, an ancient city renowned for Mithila culture and the capital city of Province No. 2, the University covers a wide range of education, viz. Agriculture, Arts, Ayurveda, Eastern Philosophy, Education, Forestry, Law, Management, Medical Science, Science, Tourish, and other technical and vocational subjects.

The University also has the authority to recognize the educational degrees of any native or foreign universities or of educational institutions, as well as fix the equivalency and standard of various academic degrees of the foreign universities with those of the University.

Rajarshi stands for a person having been widely acknowledged for the highest level of wisdom. So was King Janak , Father of Hindu Goddess Sita, in the eastern civilization of the world. The University has been named after the then wisest King Janak in the ancient period, Rajarshi Janak University. An Honour to Hinduism and King Janak;s Wisdom!


The Vision of Rajarshi Janak University is to become among the leading quality education centers of academic excellence in teaching-learning and research in South Asia and contribute to the development of the nation as well as the South-Asian region. The University will be perceived and acknowledged as one of the outstanding public universities in the nation - a world class university.

RJU Orgenogram



  • Prof. Bharat Jha

    Vice Chancellor

  • Prof.Dr. Shailendra Labh Karna

    Chairman  (Service commission)

  • Mr. Mahendra Prasad Yadav


  • Mr. Anil Kumar Sah 

    Member ( Service commission)

  • Dr. Shailendra Narayan Mallik

    Dean - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Mr. Jugeswar Sah 

    Dean - Faculty of  Management

  • Dr. Shyam kishor Mahato

    Dean - Faculty of  Science & Technology

  • Dr. Bidyasagar Verma

    Director - Curriculum Development Centre 

  • Prof.Dr. Ram Khelawan Sah 

      Director - Research Centre

  • Dr. Balram Jha

    Cotroller Of Examination



Academic Programmes

  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

    Bachelor in Computer Application (BCA)

  • Faculty of Management

    Bachelor in Business Administration (BBA)

    Master in Business Administration (MBA)

  • Faculty of  Science & Technology

    Bachelor of science,  computer science and information technology (B.Sc.CSIT)

    Bachelor of science, Medical lab Technology (B.SC. MLT)

    Bachelor in public Health (BPH)